Dr. Stephen Schendel
Craniofacial and Maxillofacial Surgery
650-353-7352

society logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Dr. Schendel Plastic Surgery

Dr. Steven Schendel is notably one of the best plastic surgeons in the Palo Alto area. As touted by both patients and peers, his surgical results, compassionate manner and level of experience and authority on facial surgery cannot be disputed. In fact, we have compiled a collection of countless patient reviews for you, as you conduct the necessary research you need to make an informed decision. We hope these patient testimonials provide additional insight as you decide who will be the best plastic surgeon for your specific case.

Filter16 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 28, 2017

Dr. Schendel is helping me feel like myself again after a tumor changed my life. - I am 28F and was diagnosed with a rare pituitary tumor resulting in a condition called acromegaly in 2015. Because of this condition my brow grew, the soft tissue in my face increased and the right side of my jaw grew asymmetrically which resulted in a quickly developed underbite. After surgically controlling the tumor by an SF neurosurgeon to ensure no more growth would occur, my husband and... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 24, 2017

Best decision I ever made! - Best decision I ever made was to have a mid-face lift with Dr. Schendel. He listened to my concerns and came up with a strategy that I would be pleased with. Dr. Schendel has a great bedside manner and put my fears to rest pre-surgery. He and his staff were very attentive post surgery as well. I look renewed and refreshed not "done". I no longer cringe when I look in the mirror. Thank you for giving me a decade+ back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 23, 2016

Dr. Schendal is a consummate professional with a warm caring disposition. He is held in very high regard by everyone I spoke to at Stanford Hospital. I had absolute confidence in him and my surgery held no surprises due to the care he took in explaining everything and setting realistic expectations. His post op care was just as good. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9943677
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 14, 2016

Dr. Schendel is a great doctor. My family and I have been fortunate enough to be under Dr. Schendel's care for many years. He has been helping me look and feel beautiful since my 50th bday... many years ago. He and his staff are wonderful in every way. His office manager, Carol Oderio, and everyone in his office treat you with the greatest care and make sure everything is perfect:) Dr. Schendel is able to enhance your beauty in an amazing way, all while looking very natural. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Yahoo  |  Nov 01, 2015

I've been getting Botox from Dr. Schendel for several years - and I still look forward to my appointments because he always manages to make me smile and laugh. The office is clean, easily located... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 01, 2015

I've been getting Botox from Dr. Schendel for several years - and I still look forward to my appointments because he always manages to make me smile and laugh. The office is clean, easily located by the freeway, and the staff is courteous and always prompt. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 30, 2015

LOVE my surgical results! Dr Schendel does amazing work!! I appreciated the weekend calls checking in on me and it reassured me to know how easily Dr S could be reached. Dr Schendel is a caring surgeon and so very sweet. If I could give another 5 stars I would. I never imagined my results would be as beautiful as those of Dr Schendel. Anyone who does their research knows Dr Schendel is truely one of the finest plastic surgeons around! Thank you for your hard work and talent! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 29, 2015

Dr. Schendel injected my lips over a year ago and they still look amazing!!!!  He gave me a natural look but full and beautful.  Thank you Dr. Schendel!  I will definitely be getting them filled with him again. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Yahoo  |  Oct 29, 2015

Dr. Schendel injected my lips over a year ago and they still look amazing!!!! He gave me a natural look but full and beautful. Thank you Dr. Schendel! I will definitely be getting them filled... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Yahoo  |  Oct 27, 2015

I have seen dr Schendel for several cosmetic treatments. As a woman on the south side of forty, I started noticing changes and aging in my face that I wasn't very excited about My biggest area... More

5.0
ReviewTracker-6639232
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2015

Dr. Schendel is one of the best!!! His gentle manner and attention to detail are impeccable. I give 5 stars easily! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2015

I have seen dr Schendel for several cosmetic treatments. As a woman on the south side of forty, I started noticing changes and aging in my face that I wasn't very excited about My biggest area of concern were the deepening wrinkles around my mouth. Dr schendel suggested thermismooth treatments.   Thermismooth, as I understand it, is a low impact heated wand that is designed to scientifically heat areas of wrinkled skin to help stimulate collagen production in the tissue below the skin. I'm not a doctor , everyone should google it , all I know is that I have dramatic improvement in the skin around my mouth, and it was quick and painless. What more can a girl ask for ! He also have me the best Botox injections I have ever had. Targeted perfectly in my forehead and between the eyes where I needed it. I have received more than a few compliments on looking younger or more refreshed since the treatments , even from my mother (not common) I had some  ideas on other treatments to do, including lasers and fillers. Although he had the equipment and supplies to do these procedure, he counseled me that they were a bit pre mature for my skins current aging.  Suggested more diligent use of sunscreen instead :) Dr Schendel  was very professional, knowledgeable and kind during my visits. I would definitely recommend him based on my experience More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 10, 2015

He's an amazing doctor that will definitely take care of you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 15, 2013

Superb surgeon with an artist's eye - Dr. Schendel was recommended to me by another Palo Alto plastic surgeon who is himself well-regarded. He told me that Dr. Schendel was the absolute best. I had a complex problem --- revising a poorly done sliding genioplasty which itself was a revision of an old chin implant from 1969. My situation was unfortunate --- I had developed a sagging chin and all kinds of other undesirable outcomes including difficulty chewing and speaking. I had originally had a receding chin, but in 1969 the implants were primitive, made of old silicone and the implant had worn at the roots of my lower teeth. Another doctor in trying to fix that, had caused an asymmetry and weakened the chin muscles. Dr. Schendel gave me beautiful symmetry and function to my jaw, and it looks and works terrific, perfectly natural. He has a calm air of expertise, and I knew that he understood what needed to be done to set this all right. He is very friendly and informative. I can't recommend him highly enough. His office staff is also wonderfully helpful and personable. What a relief after years of bearing up with my unfortunate appearance and inability to chew or talk properly. Now I am completely satisfied. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Oct 27, 2011

My son was born with a cleft lip, and Dr Schendell did the first and the revision surgery for him, The surgeries came out nicely and I am very fortunate to have him to do the surgeries for my son. He is very professional, experienced, and patient. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-1736807
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Apr 20, 2010

Dr. Schendel is a wonderful doctor. He is double board certified, not only is he a plastic surgeon but he's been to dental school and is a maxillofacial surgeon as well. The only other doctor I'm aware of that has both of these qualifications is Dr. Jeffrey Posnick in Maryland. I had hemifacial microsomia & required surgery of the upper & lower jaw (maxillary osteotomy and mandibular sagittal split plus genioplasty). These are the hardest kinds of surgery to do: you not only have to think about what the person will look like but how their jaw functionally works. I interviewed four other maxillofacial guys: William Arnett, Henry Kawamoto, Jeffrey Posnick, Douglas Monasabian. Dr Schendel was the only one who was accomodating when I asked questions, didn't try and remove teeth from my mouth, and had that artistic eye/knew what would look good on my face. If you could see my before & afters, you would know I went from average to attractive even though my problem was a functional one. Email me for more information [email protected] More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.