Dr. Stephen Schendel
Craniofacial and Maxillofacial Surgery
650-353-7352

society logo
Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Dr. Schendel Plastic Surgery

Dr. Steven Schendel is notably one of the best plastic surgeons in the Palo Alto area. As touted by both patients and peers, his surgical results, compassionate manner and level of experience and authority on facial surgery cannot be disputed. In fact, we have compiled a collection of countless patient reviews for you, as you conduct the necessary research you need to make an informed decision. We hope these patient testimonials provide additional insight as you decide who will be the best plastic surgeon for your specific case.

Filter14 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2017

I am taking the time to share the positive experiences I have had of Dr. Schendel because it is important that any public information is accurate. Firstly, the doctor went out of his way and made room in his schedule to consult regarding my 8 year-old daughter's needs when we had no prior relationship with him and oral surgery was imminent.  He was gentle with her and honest with me about our choices. His expertise and care allowed me to make the best choice for my child.Secondly, he has cared for more than one individual I hold dear.  This family has faced over 20 years of medical intervention and combined, upward of 30 surgeries.  Dr. Schendel has been steadfast, consistent, and brilliant in his care of my dear one and her child. As her friend, each time they have faced yet another intense physical challenge or surgery, I have rest assured that she was getting the absolute best treatment because she was in Dr. Schendel's care. The bottom line is I trust him, both to care for my family and those I cherish.Aneea Toomajian PPS, LMFTEducational and Behavioral Consultant More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2017

Dr. Schendel has been my surgeon since I was 15 years old, I am now 44. I have been incredibly grateful for his work and dedication to his field. He has performed several procedures on me to correct a severe unilateral cleft lip and palate. I was referred to him because my clefting was so unusual and other surgeons had been unsuccessful with my case. My cheekbones were non-existent, eye sockets sucken in, jaw extremely recessed, palate permanently open and I had existing scar tissue from previous cosmetic surgery attempts by another surgeon. These are ALL the things Dr. Schendel has fixed with expertise, compassion and dedication. californiacraniofacialin…Over the years, Dr. Schendel has carefully and compassionately rebuilt my face from the inside out. Giving me the bone structure that I was not born with due to the severity of my cranial facial anomalies.When I first met him(I was 14) he excused his entire team of fellows who were there to observe him. He gave me the privacy I needed, handed me a mirror and asked me, "What don't you like about your face?". As a teenager, I was given the space to communicate the things that were great sources of pain. I explained the various things about my cleft lip that caused other kids teased me about. From that moment Dr. Schendel set out to give me a normal face with nothing but determination, dedication and true compassion.Over the years, I have faced other complications with my bone structure and degeneration from my severe cleft. Dr. Schendel has fiercely, carefully and methodically worked to fix the constant erosion and instability in my face. He has striveded to continually find the newest, best techniques available. I have been able to have implants along with bone grafts to retabalize my eroding palate, stem cell procedures to improve the tissue and blood flow to my face and cosmetic revisions-- I have been incredibly grateful and happy with the results.Dr. Schendel's ability to listen and connect with me has been amazing. As a youth, I felt safe, validated and listened too as a patient. As an adult, he has heard my worries and validated the pain I have felt in my face and palate. He has worked tirelessly to fix my cranial facial anomalies. I believe that his ability to be so compassionate and careful with his patients comes from YEARS of working with cleft affected children here and in third world countries. A few years ago, I learned that Dr. Schendel has also volunteered countless hours of surgery in third world countries to operate on children. He has insisted that the surgeries are learning sessions for local doctors in those countries. He has created a learning environment to teach the newest techniques to other physicians in these countries. He also spends months of his own time collecting supplies to take to these countries to donate for the surgeries. Dr. Schendel's passion for rebuilding faces generates from a desire to truly want to help rebuild lives--physically...and emotionally.Our son is also bilaterally cleft affected, he is now 13. Dr. Schendel has revised his soft palate and his lip. It is with tremendous gratitude that we have Dr. Schendel as our son's doctor. His revision is beautiful and his cleft is a non-issue. His speech has also VASTLY improved due to the titrated listening of Dr. Schendel in knowing how to revise our sons palate so skillfully so he can now make sounds like "J" "P" "K". I have referred Dr. Schendel to several family friends for various things that are not cleft related. Not because Dr. Schendel is an incredible oral maxillary and plastic surgeon. But because of his ability to connect with his patients, to hear them, to see them and then to use his dedication to medicine to help them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2017

Dr. Schendel has been my surgeon since I was 15 years old, I am now 44. I have been incredibly grateful for his work and dedication to his field. He has performed several procedures on me to correct a severe unilateral cleft lip and palate. I was referred to him because my clefting was so unusual and other surgeons had been unsuccessful with my case. My cheekbones were non-existent, eye sockets sucken in, jaw extremely recessed, palate permanently open and I had existing scar tissue from previous cosmetic surgery attempts by another surgeon. These are ALL the things Dr. Schendel has fixed with expertise, compassion and dedication. californiacraniofacialin… Over the years, Dr. Schendel has carefully and compassionately rebuilt my face from the inside out. Giving me the bone structure that I was not born with due to the severity of my cranial facial anomalies. When I first met him(I was 14) he excused his entire team of fellows who were there to observe him. He gave me the privacy I needed, handed me a mirror and asked me, "What don't you like about your face?". As a teenager, I was given the space to communicate the things that were great sources of pain. I explained the various things about my cleft lip that caused other kids teased me about. From that moment Dr. Schendel set out to give me a normal face with nothing but determination, dedication and true compassion. Over the years, I have faced other complications with my bone structure and degeneration from my severe cleft. Dr. Schendel has fiercely, carefully and methodically worked to fix the constant erosion and instability in my face. He has striveded to continually find the newest, best techniques available. I have been able to have implants along with bone grafts to retabalize my eroding palate, stem cell procedures to improve the tissue and blood flow to my face and cosmetic revisions-- I have been incredibly grateful and happy with the results. Dr. Schendel's ability to listen and connect with me has been amazing. As a youth, I felt safe, validated and listened too as a patient. As an adult, he has heard my worries and validated the pain I have felt in my face and palate. He has worked tirelessly to fix my cranial facial anomalies. I believe that his ability to be so compassionate and careful with his patients comes from YEARS of working with cleft affected children here and in third world countries. A few years ago, I learned that Dr. Schendel has also volunteered countless hours of surgery in third world countries to operate on children. He has insisted that the surgeries are learning sessions for local doctors in those countries. He has created a learning environment to teach the newest techniques to other physicians in these countries. He also spends months of his own time collecting supplies to take to these countries to donate for the surgeries. Dr. Schendel's passion for rebuilding faces generates from a desire to truly want to help rebuild lives--physically...and emotionally. Our son is also bilaterally cleft affected, he is now 13. Dr. Schendel has revised his soft palate and his lip. It is with tremendous gratitude that we have Dr. Schendel as our son's doctor. His revision is beautiful and his cleft is a non-issue. His speech has also VASTLY improved due to the titrated listening of Dr. Schendel in knowing how to revise our sons palate so skillfully so he can now make sounds like "J" "P" "K". I have referred Dr. Schendel to several family friends for various things that are not cleft related. Not because Dr. Schendel is an incredible oral maxillary and plastic surgeon. But because of his ability to connect with his patients, to hear them, to see them and then to use his dedication to medicine to help them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 03, 2017

I am taking the time to share the positive experiences I have had of Dr. Schendel because it is important that any public information is accurate. Firstly, the doctor went out of his way and made room in his schedule to consult regarding my 8 year-old daughter's needs when we had no prior relationship with him and oral surgery was imminent.  He was gentle with her and honest with me about our choices. His expertise and care allowed me to make the best choice for my child. Secondly, he has cared for more than one individual I hold dear.  This family has faced over 20 years of medical intervention and combined, upward of 30 surgeries.  Dr. Schendel has been steadfast, consistent, and brilliant in his care of my dear one and her child. As her friend, each time they have faced yet another intense physical challenge or surgery, I have rest assured that she was getting the absolute best treatment because she was in Dr. Schendel's care. The bottom line is I trust him, both to care for my family and those I cherish. Aneea Toomajian PPS, LMFT Educational and Behavioral Consultant More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 25, 2017

Very Professional.  I've been seeing Dr. Schendel for botox for my TMJ and it's been amazing.  It has reduced all the pain in my jaw.  I am very thankful. The office and staff are very helpful and nice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 05, 2017

I love Dr. Schendel. I had a previous jaw surgery years ago at UCSF that was completely botched (see my review of UCSF if you want more on that). The feeling never came back to my lower lip on the left side. I went back to UCSF to see the supposed "nerve specialist" there, and showed him a recent CT Scan. He said "maybe" one of the screws was impinging on the mandibular nerve canal. I pointed out a hole in my mandible along the canal knowing full well it was not a foramen nor normal anatomy (26 years in the dental field, y'all). This doctor at UCSF said it was nothing and "just the way it healed". I was still suspicious of the hole, and not comfortable with UCSF doing any more work on me, so I decided to see Dr. Schendel as he is highly respected in the dental community. Dr. Schendel thought that maybe two of the screws were impinging on the canal, and suggested we remove all three. I then pointed out the hole and he was immediately glad I pointed that out and said that, in his experience, that meant the nerve might be growing out at that site. I had originally come in thinking just the screws were coming out, but we decided to add some additional exploratory surgery to see what was going on there. Well, fast forward to after the surgery... I am happy to report that I've probably gotten 75% of the feeling back in my lip, which is a miracle considering how long it had been since my original surgery (years). Dr. Schendel did indeed find that my nerve sheath was growing out of that hole and had attached to nearby tissue. He cut back the sheath, removed some bone that was compressing the nerve, and took out the 3 screws on that side. He was so great because he showed me pictures from the surgery and I could see everything that had transpired. You could clearly see the filmy sheath sticking out of the hole and he showed me the bone he removed to take pressure off the nerve. Thankfully, my nerve was intact and over the course of this last year, more and more feeling has come back. I also want to say that Dr. Schendel was great in dealing with me. I was so incredibly unsure and nervous because of my previous terrible experience at UCSF. I required a lot of hand holding and reassurance, and Dr. Schendel never lost patience with me. He is very calm and compassionate, and I am just thrilled that most of the feeling came back and my lip feels so much better now. I was so pleased that I saw Dr. Schendel again for some more corrective surgery due to the terrible outcome of the UCSF surgery, and I was again tremendously pleased with the outcome. I would go back to him any time and highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 05, 2017

I love Dr. Schendel. I had a previous jaw surgery years ago at UCSF that was completely botched (see my review of UCSF if you want more on that). The feeling never came back to my lower lip on the left side. I went back to UCSF to see the supposed "nerve specialist" there, and showed him a recent CT Scan. He said "maybe" one of the screws was impinging on the mandibular nerve canal. I pointed out a hole in my mandible along the canal knowing full well it was not a foramen nor normal anatomy (26 years in the dental field, y'all). This doctor at UCSF said it was nothing and "just the way it healed". I was still suspicious of the hole, and not comfortable with UCSF doing any more work on me, so I decided to see Dr. Schendel as he is highly respected in the dental community. Dr. Schendel thought that maybe two of the screws were impinging on the canal, and suggested we remove all three. I then pointed out the hole and he was immediately glad I pointed that out and said that, in his experience, that meant the nerve might be growing out at that site. I had originally come in thinking just the screws were coming out, but we decided to add some additional exploratory surgery to see what was going on there. Well, fast forward to after the surgery... I am happy to report that I've probably gotten 75% of the feeling back in my lip, which is a miracle considering how long it had been since my original surgery (years). Dr. Schendel did indeed find that my nerve sheath was growing out of that hole and had attached to nearby tissue. He cut back the sheath, removed some bone that was compressing the nerve, and took out the 3 screws on that side. He was so great because he showed me pictures from the surgery and I could see everything that had transpired. You could clearly see the filmy sheath sticking out of the hole and he showed me the bone he removed to take pressure off the nerve. Thankfully, my nerve was intact and over the course of this last year, more and more feeling has come back. I also want to say that Dr. Schendel was great in dealing with me. I was so incredibly unsure and nervous because of my previous terrible experience at UCSF. I required a lot of hand holding and reassurance, and Dr. Schendel never lost patience with me. He is very calm and compassionate, and I am just thrilled that some of the feeling came back and my lip feels so much better now. I was so pleased that I saw Dr. Schendel again for some more corrective surgery due to the terrible outcome of the UCSF surgery, and I was again tremendously pleased with the outcome. I would go back to him any time and highly recommend him. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9943677
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 14, 2016

Dr. Schendel is a great doctor. My family and I have been fortunate enough to be under Dr. Schendel's care for many years. He has been helping me look and feel beautiful since my 50th bday... many years ago. He and his staff are wonderful in every way. His office manager, Carol Oderio, and everyone in his office treat you with the greatest care and make sure everything is perfect:) Dr. Schendel is able to enhance your beauty in an amazing way, all while looking very natural. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 01, 2015

I've been getting Botox from Dr. Schendel for several years - and I still look forward to my appointments because he always manages to make me smile and laugh. The office is clean, easily located by the freeway, and the staff is courteous and always prompt. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 30, 2015

LOVE my surgical results! Dr Schendel does amazing work!! I appreciated the weekend calls checking in on me and it reassured me to know how easily Dr S could be reached. Dr Schendel is a caring surgeon and so very sweet. If I could give another 5 stars I would. I never imagined my results would be as beautiful as those of Dr Schendel. Anyone who does their research knows Dr Schendel is truely one of the finest plastic surgeons around! Thank you for your hard work and talent! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 29, 2015

Dr. Schendel injected my lips over a year ago and they still look amazing!!!!  He gave me a natural look but full and beautful.  Thank you Dr. Schendel!  I will definitely be getting them filled with him again. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-6639232
Review from T.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2015

Dr. Schendel is one of the best!!! His gentle manner and attention to detail are impeccable. I give 5 stars easily! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 27, 2015

I have seen dr Schendel for several cosmetic treatments. As a woman on the south side of forty, I started noticing changes and aging in my face that I wasn't very excited about My biggest area of concern were the deepening wrinkles around my mouth. Dr schendel suggested thermismooth treatments.   Thermismooth, as I understand it, is a low impact heated wand that is designed to scientifically heat areas of wrinkled skin to help stimulate collagen production in the tissue below the skin. I'm not a doctor , everyone should google it , all I know is that I have dramatic improvement in the skin around my mouth, and it was quick and painless. What more can a girl ask for ! He also have me the best Botox injections I have ever had. Targeted perfectly in my forehead and between the eyes where I needed it. I have received more than a few compliments on looking younger or more refreshed since the treatments , even from my mother (not common) I had some  ideas on other treatments to do, including lasers and fillers. Although he had the equipment and supplies to do these procedure, he counseled me that they were a bit pre mature for my skins current aging.  Suggested more diligent use of sunscreen instead :) Dr Schendel  was very professional, knowledgeable and kind during my visits. I would definitely recommend him based on my experience More

5.0
ReviewTracker-2929839
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 24, 2015

Dr. Schendel has become my hero! After suffering from injuries sustained during a home appliance explosion that damaged my jaw joints back in 2013, I was left daily/constant headaches, loud clicking and locking. The constant pain made me miserable, and I never thought I would have a jaw that would open and close correctly again! I had to unlock my stiff/locked jaw every morning and was barely able to open my mouth, even with the loud click. Post-surgery, although I am swollen and recuperating, I was immediately able to open my mouth wider and straighter than before surgery, and with no more awful clicking and locking. I am truly grateful for Dr. Schendel's personal attention, expert skills, and wonderful assistant/staff! He helped me to get my life back to a more livable state where I can enjoy basic things like eating, talking... and even kissing LOL, all things that became a challenge and I will never take for granted again! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.